Channels vs. Groups
Want to understand the difference between channels and groups? 🤔 Let’s break it down for you.
Channels are an excellent option for discussing any topic within your entire organization.
All members of your teamspace are automatically included in channels, and people outside of your teamspace cannot join them.
Message history in channels is visible to new team members, which makes it easy for them to catch up on previous discussions.
By default, channels are muted, but you can choose to receive notifications of new messages if you prefer. And when you first create your teamspace, you will see that the #general channel is already set up to help you get started.
Learn more about channels
Groups are a great way to streamline communication within your team or with people outside of your organization, such as clients, partners, and service providers. They’re particularly useful for project management or discussing a topic related to a specific group of people.
Inviting someone to join a group is easy – you can invite anyone with an email address, even if they don’t use Spike. Once you send an invitation, the recipient will receive an email with the name of the group in the subject line.
Keep in mind that joining a group requires an invitation and new members won’t be able to see the previous chat history. However, they can quickly catch up by reading through the current messages in the group.
In a nutshell
Used for streamlined communication with internal and external stakeholders
Joining requires an invitation and new members won’t see chat history
Dedicated spaces for all team members to discuss general topics within the organization
All team members are automatically included and can see the full message history